Conductors of the Cape Town Municipal Orchestra, 1914-1965 a historical perspective

Doctoral Thesis


Permanent link to this Item
Journal Title
Link to Journal
Journal ISSN
Volume Title

University of Cape Town

This thesis profiles the conductors of the Cape Municipal Orchestra since its inception in 1914 until the resignation of David Tidboald in 1965. After the introductory Chapter 1, Chapter 2 includes a historic review of the period before 1914. It also highlights the influences leading towards the inauguration of the Cape Municipal Orchestra. Chapters 3-7 discuss the permanent conductors who conducted between 1914 and 1954. The following list extends from the dates of their first concerts up to their resignations, or up to the date of their final concerts: Theo Wendt (from 28 February 1914 to 30 September 1924: a period of about 10 years). Leslie Heward (from 17 July 1924 to 31 May 1926: a period of about 2 years). William Pickerill (from 5 May 1927 to 12 October 1946: a period of about 19 years). Geoffrey Miller as Associate Conductor (from 31 October 1946 to 19 February1948: a period of nearly two years). Enrique Jordá (from 19 February 1948 to 31 December 1953: a period of nearly five years). Assistant and guest conductors are discussed within these chapters. Chapter 8 discusses guest conductors from January 1954 until June 1960. Here they are organised chronologically accordingto their first appearances. Chapter 9 deals with the period of David Tidboald's conductorship (from 20 August 1960 to1 July 1965). The concluding remarks of Chapter 10 briefly touch on such aspects as the number of premieres, recurrence of works mentioned in this thesis, and the guest conducting system.

Includes abstract.

Includes bibliographical references and index.